What Manner of Love is This? Book Review.

Title: What Manner of Love is This?

Author: Dani Daniels

Published: Xlibris

Year: 2017

Fifty Shades of Grey, please take a seat.

Romance novels with mystery and a thriller aspect are my guilty pleasure, and oh boy does this novel pleasure. Dani writes with humour and passion as if she herself is telling her own story in the raunchiest way possible. A lot of authors struggle to write sex scenes and tend to use metaphors and euphemisms to make themselves and their readers more comfortable, Dani says fuck that and dives right in which I absolutely love. Dani keeps us guessing and on edge throughout, wondering where the story will go. The dialogue sometimes feels a little stiff and forced but it’s not really about how they say things and more what is said, the dynamics between some of the characters calls for dialog to be stiff because that’s the characters relationship to each other.

Our protagonist, Brianna, has so much happen to her in such a short time and as I’m reading I seriously just want to be able to get her a huge hug and then other times I want to slap her silly for letting things go over her head. She meets a handsome man named Isaac, they fall in love, they are happy and then one day he just disappears. She then meets another man and his family while trying to move on from Isaac. This man is nothing like her former love, she starts questioning herself and everything about him and his family. Nothing is as it seems.

Dani’s debut novel is a sound success, she writes with passion and confidence and that shines through her characters. Fans of Nora Roberts, Danielle Steele and E.L. James will enjoy this dark, romantic rollercoaster ride.

You can find Dani’s debut novel here: What Manner of Love is this?

Rating out of 10: 8.5

Advertisements

One thought on “What Manner of Love is This? Book Review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s