Unspeakable: A Deadly Secrets Novel. ARC Book Review.

Title: Unspeakable – A Deadly Secrets Novel

Author: Elisabeth Naughton

Published: Montlake Romance

Year: 2018

“At what should have been one of the tensest moments of his life, Rusty laughed. And for the first time, he was glad he wasn’t alone.”

Unspeakable

‘All his siblings have moved on from their troubling pasts, but Rusty McClane can’t leave his behind. Not even when his freedom is in jeopardy. Legal investigator Harper Blake can sense a bad boy. She’s drawn to them—like she is to her mysterious and brooding new client. The police believe that Rusty is involved with the case of a missing underage girl. Harper’s job is to find evidence to defend him. But is her sexy suspect a predator…or something else? If Rusty is guilty of anything, it’s of stirring something primitive in Harper. The closer they get, the harder it is to believe the worst of him. But in an underworld filled with sex trafficking, kidnapping, and murder, Harper will need to be cautious about whom she trusts. Because Rusty isn’t the only one with secrets.’

Fast-paced, raunchy as hell sex scenes and deep dark twisty shit that keeps you on the edge of your seat. Love, love, loved this book! Only took me a day to read it, I went to bed early just so I could keep reading and I stayed up until 3 AM to finish it. The drama, the romance, the sex, the emotions, all written so well I felt like I was living through it myself.   I really felt the connection between Rusty and Harper, their relationship was so similar to my own with my partner so I really related to what they were going through, falling in love and learning to trust, not only each other, but trust that they deserved the happiness they were finally feeling after both having such a rough past.

I can see why Elisabeth is a best-selling author, her writing flows, she creates suspense and keeps you wanting more. She writes with confidence and doesn’t shy away from sex, she puts a fire in your belly you can’t put out. This book was also quite humorous and had a great family aspect where you feel warm and comforted knowing there are good people and good families out there. I absolutely loved how everything tied together in the end, very clever storytelling. Elisabeth shows she can create a relationship as well as connect her readers with her characters, which is no small feat for an author. TO make you want to care, to make you invested in a characters outcome, even if they’re not the main character. I was just as concerned for some of the supporting roles as I was for Rusty and Harper.

Those who love Nora Roberts and Jackie Collins will absolutely adore Elisabeth Naughton, I for one can’t wait to read more!

Rating out of 10: 10

Unspeakable will be available in November 2018. You can pre-order it here: Unspeakable

 

Advertisements

Face the Fire (Book Three in the Three Sisters Island Trilogy). Book Review.

Title: Face the Fire

Author: Nora Roberts

Published: Piatkus

Year: 2001

“The Truth is finally revealed…”

Nora Roberts Face the Fire

Mia Devlin, sister, witch, savvy businesswoman and all around amazing being is our centre for book three. Years ago she loved with her whole heart, Sam Logan and Mia shared an incredible bond built on passion, legend and fate. Until one day he fled Three Sisters Island and left Mia alone, mending her heart and promising to never love another again. Mia is facing her toughest challenge yet as Sam returns to Three Sisters, determined to win back Mia’s heart. But Mia is determined too, or just stubborn, but she will not admit her feelings for him, she will not risk letting him back in and having her heart torn out all over again. And yet she must, if she is to fulfil her fate and save Three Sisters Island, she needs to join her magic with his and break the centuries-old curse or doom them all.

My second favourite book of the series. Mia is amazing. I need Mia’s house on the cliff and fairy garden, i picture it so clearly each time i read about it. Mia and Sam’s love story is so passionate and so heartbreaking, it had me in tears several times. Mia is the kind of person and witch i would want to be. I was so content with the way Nora brought this series to a close but i was so sad it was the end! I’ve read this series multiple times now and it just gets better each and every time. I fall in love with the characters and the stories over and over again. Even the people of Three Sisters, you don’t know much about them but you still care deeply for them. There are very few books I’ve read where characters insignificant to the major story have had an effect on my heart. I feel full of magic when i read these books and i hope you do too.

You can find the closure to the Three Sisters Island Trilogy here: Face the Fire

You can read my review to Book One here: Dance Upon the Air. Book Review.

You can read my review to Book Two here: Heaven and Earth (Three Sisters Island Trilogy Book Two). Book Review.

Rating out of 10: 10

Heaven and Earth (Three Sisters Island Trilogy Book Two). Book Review.

Title: Heaven And Earth

Author: Nora Roberts

Published: Piatkus

Year: 2001

“A hidden secret old as the elements themselves…”

nora roberts heaven and earth

Deputy Riley Todd is the focus of book two, she is a no bullshit, straight up bad ass. Riley is the sister of Zack, love interest of Nell from the first book. Riley and Zack are the officers on Three Sisters, their family has lived there for decades. Our other main character focus is MacAllister Booke or Mac for short. New to the island, his profession of studying the impossible and the strange, has brought him to Three Sisters. One of our other recurring characters, the beautiful Mia Devlin, is the subject of his interests that brought him to the island. Extensive research has showed she is the current island witch. Deputy Todd’s initial reaction to Mac is not so favourable, only time will tell on that one. One thing Riley is adamant against is anything to do with magic. She just wants to live a quiet, peaceful life as deputy sheriff but her powers hiding beneath her tough exterior are even more powerful than she can imagine, and her control is constantly slipping which scares her to death.

Book two didn’t grip me the way the first did, i think i just couldn’t relate as well to Ripley as i immediately did to Nell. Still a very enjoyable book, suspenseful where you need it to be, frustrating in others. Ripley’s constant denial of her powers gets a bit exhausting (for her and the reader). The book does it’s job and furthers the story of the other characters to get you ready for the big finale that is book three. Nora writes exquisitely as usual, i truly cannot fault her as an author. I’ll be posting a review on book three shortly.

You can find book two here: Heaven and Earth

Rating out of 10: 7.5

Dance Upon the Air. Book Review.

Title: Dance Upon the Air (Three Sisters Island Trilogy Book One)

Author: Nora Roberts

Published: Piatkus

Year: 2001

‘Sometimes it takes a stranger to unlock your heart…’

Dance Upon the Air

Easily in my top 5 books of all time, the pages and cover of my copy are so worn because I’ve read it at least 15 times. I read this book when I want to feel inspired, when I’m feeling like I’m not the strong woman I know I am and when I need a dose of magic from my fellow sisters. Nora Roberts is my favourite author of all time. I own just about all of her books. I love the way she writes, I love what she writes about, I particularly love her trilogies, especially when they’re centred around magic. Nora uses the same formula for most of her books, but rather than becoming lackluster and predictable, they continue to shine and thrive.

‘She had died so she could live…’

Our first main character goes by the name of Nell Channing, though that wasn’t always the case. Nell is creating a new life for herself, she’s travelled many miles and felt a magnetic pull to Three Sisters Island, a quiet, peaceful place perfect for new beginnings. I love following Nell’s journey, I love the way she thinks and feels and acts. I felt a kinship to this character from the get go, almost as if we were actually sisters. Nell stumbles across a book store-café and gets the job of cook there. She meets a handsome young cop by the name of Zack Todd. The Todd’s have lived on Three Sisters for many generations. Though on edge due to his profession, Nell can’t deny the sparks between them and cautiously explores her feelings for him. Nell discovers that the island suffers from a terrible curse, one that can only be broken by the descendants of the Three Sisters, the witches who settled on the island back in 1692. With the help of two other strong, gifted women, Nell must find the power within to save her new home, her new love and herself.

We’re joining Nell in her journey but we also have some extremely strong and interesting supporting characters, people you immediately love and care for. I cannot praise this story enough, it has everything you could possibly want in it, magic, romance, suspense, not to mention some adult scenes… You will fly through this book, you will devour it hungrily as if you’ve been starved for your whole life not knowing that this story is what you needed to satiate your hunger. As soon as you’ve finished I guarantee you’ll be picking up book two, Heaven and Earth, immediately.

You can find book one of the Three Sisters Island Trilogy here: Dance Upon the Air

Rating out of 10: 11!

What Manner of Love is This? Book Review.

Title: What Manner of Love is This?

Author: Dani Daniels

Published: Xlibris

Year: 2017

Fifty Shades of Grey, please take a seat.

Romance novels with mystery and a thriller aspect are my guilty pleasure, and oh boy does this novel pleasure. Dani writes with humour and passion as if she herself is telling her own story in the raunchiest way possible. A lot of authors struggle to write sex scenes and tend to use metaphors and euphemisms to make themselves and their readers more comfortable, Dani says fuck that and dives right in which I absolutely love. Dani keeps us guessing and on edge throughout, wondering where the story will go. The dialogue sometimes feels a little stiff and forced but it’s not really about how they say things and more what is said, the dynamics between some of the characters calls for dialog to be stiff because that’s the characters relationship to each other.

Our protagonist, Brianna, has so much happen to her in such a short time and as I’m reading I seriously just want to be able to get her a huge hug and then other times I want to slap her silly for letting things go over her head. She meets a handsome man named Isaac, they fall in love, they are happy and then one day he just disappears. She then meets another man and his family while trying to move on from Isaac. This man is nothing like her former love, she starts questioning herself and everything about him and his family. Nothing is as it seems.

Dani’s debut novel is a sound success, she writes with passion and confidence and that shines through her characters. Fans of Nora Roberts, Danielle Steele and E.L. James will enjoy this dark, romantic rollercoaster ride.

You can find Dani’s debut novel here: What Manner of Love is this?

Rating out of 10: 8.5