Kindle Vs. Hardcopy.

Ah the age old question, Kindle E-copy or proper hardcopy/paperback? For so long I said “no way will I ever get a Kindle, I can’t cheat on my books like that!”, it genuinely felt like I’d be betraying my books and that I’d be contributing to the loss of bookstores and public libraries. So what changed my mind? Well it was a series of novellas written by Kylie Chan, she only released them on Amazon as e-copies and I absolutely could not miss out on reading them just because I was being stubborn. I did a lot of research so I could weigh the pros and cons of e-books over real books. My partner ended up buying me a Kindle Paperwhite for my birthday and I haven’t been parted from it since. I found the paperwhite model to be perfect for me and didn’t cost an arm and a leg. The Kindle Unlimited feature is by far the best bang for you buck I’ve ever encountered. $14 per month for hundred of thousands of titles? Hell yeah! Everyday there are specials from all genres where books will only cost you $1.49, you’ll never get that anywhere else except for perhaps a thrift shop or garage sale. And you can store endless amounts of books on there too. Oh and did I mention you can get the Kindle app on your Smartphone? Everything you buy on your Kindle automatically syncs to your app so no matter what, you can bring multiple books with you everywhere and for someone like me who likes to read 4 or 5 books at once, this is a lifesaver. I used to take a huge book bag to work with the 3-5 books I was currently reading, it was so heavy, but it was necessary because I never knew what I was going to feel like reading, with a Kindle that is never something you have to worry about. And I know what you’re thinking, but Jen, what about real books and book stores? I still read real books, I still go to my public library and borrow regularly and the few bookstores that are left, I still go to when I have the money (which unfortunately isn’t as often as I would like). Nothing compares to the feeling and the smell of a new or borrowed book so that is not something I’ll ever give up for good. Also the cover artwork on most of the novels I read are absolutely stunning and unfortunately the Kindle Paperwhite is only black and white so you don’t get the full effect of a beautiful fantasy novel cover, they still look great as you’ll see below but not quite the same as the hardcopy. Sometimes if a book on Amazon is cheap enough I will buy it for my Kindle and buy a hardcopy to keep too. I should probably start receiving commission from Amazon with the amount of Kindle’s I’ve convinced people to buy, none of them have regretted it either, promise!

20180730_234149
Look how clear the image is! The brightness is only half way up too.

I nearly forgot to mention possibly the best feature of the Paperwhite, it has a MULTIPLE MONTH BATTERY LIFE. I use my Kindle everyday usually for 2-3 hours, and I never turn it off. I’ve had it for a year and a half and I swear I’ve only charged it maybe 4 times. It has a backlight that you can dim or increase to suit you, finally I can read my book in bed and not keep my partner and puppy awake! You can also easily skip forward and back in the book and highlight passages/quotes you want to post or keep. You can purchase all different covers to protect your Kindle, it makes it a little bit bulkier but at least you have piece of mind that it’s safe no matter what.

Another amazing feature Kindle’s have is Goodreads. Goodreads is a magical place where you can connect with other likeminded readers and share your thoughts and opinions and reviews. I love the world of books Goodreads opened up for me, I love the people I’ve become friends with through writing reviews and I love that they have regular competitions and giveaways along with interviews with authors! It connects us all in a way real books just can’t, unless you’re in a book club, which lets face it, are more of an online thing now anyway! I must be part of 10 different book clubs right now, all of them online. Without my Kindle I don’t think I would have even thought to start this blog. Posting reviews to Goodreads was what got me interested in writing even more for myself. Okay so you’re probably wondering if I’m getting paid to write this by Amazon because of how much praise I’m giving, I assure you, I’m definitely not! I genuinely believe this piece of technology is a must have for avid readers. So what are you waiting for? A magical world awaits!

You can buy your very own Kindle Paperwhite here: Amazon Kindle Paperwhite

Or at JB HIFI here: JB HIFI Kindle Paperwhite

 

What Manner of Love is This? Book Review.

Title: What Manner of Love is This?

Author: Dani Daniels

Published: Xlibris

Year: 2017

Fifty Shades of Grey, please take a seat.

Romance novels with mystery and a thriller aspect are my guilty pleasure, and oh boy does this novel pleasure. Dani writes with humour and passion as if she herself is telling her own story in the raunchiest way possible. A lot of authors struggle to write sex scenes and tend to use metaphors and euphemisms to make themselves and their readers more comfortable, Dani says fuck that and dives right in which I absolutely love. Dani keeps us guessing and on edge throughout, wondering where the story will go. The dialogue sometimes feels a little stiff and forced but it’s not really about how they say things and more what is said, the dynamics between some of the characters calls for dialog to be stiff because that’s the characters relationship to each other.

Our protagonist, Brianna, has so much happen to her in such a short time and as I’m reading I seriously just want to be able to get her a huge hug and then other times I want to slap her silly for letting things go over her head. She meets a handsome man named Isaac, they fall in love, they are happy and then one day he just disappears. She then meets another man and his family while trying to move on from Isaac. This man is nothing like her former love, she starts questioning herself and everything about him and his family. Nothing is as it seems.

Dani’s debut novel is a sound success, she writes with passion and confidence and that shines through her characters. Fans of Nora Roberts, Danielle Steele and E.L. James will enjoy this dark, romantic rollercoaster ride.

You can find Dani’s debut novel here: What Manner of Love is this?

Rating out of 10: 8.5